the tiny home is finally home.

usandourtiny

The day has finally come.

This weekend our tiny home made its migration up Little Cottonwood Canyon! It was kind of terrifying to be honest, hauling that thing up the canyon road. Turns out tiny homes barely make it under power lines. Let’s just say we got some weird looks from passing joggers…

migration

But we made it in one piece! No broken windows, cracked tile or popped tires. Hooray for miracles ๐Ÿ˜‰

In case you haven’t been following our lil Tiny Home’s story, check out this postย and this postย for some background. It’s been a long journey. I’ve learned A LOT about power tools (not sure if that’s a good thing haha) and spent too much time in the HD Lounge. It’s been an incredibleย experience to build this thing from the groundย up with my dad and my husband (a.k.a.ย Papa D. and Vitamin P). Power team right there.

We built it with the intention of renting it out on Air B and B. Check it out on the website! OK, OK. Enough talk. Let’s move on to the good stuff. PICTURES.ย This post will mainly be photos. Lots and lots of photos. I hope you’re ready for this, cause for us, it’s been a long time coming…

My mom, sister-in-law Beth, and I were given the job of holding trees out of the road so the tiny home could fit through. Not as easy as you’d think…rocks

Once the tiny home was in its spot, we had to get the skylights back on. (We took them off for traveling).

on the roof

The view of the outside once the deck was up…(as you can see, the deck is still a work in progress, but we’re getting there).

outside

thetineyhome

7

Our tiny home, nestled into its new home. Adorbs.

nestled

This is the view from the back corner. The front section is a bathroom, you sleep up top and the little kitchen includes a mini fridge, stove, oven and microwave.

20

I wanted everything white, white, white. Then I decorated by adding pops of bright colors here and there. We’re still working on getting some colorful curtains up, but you get the idea.

patright12

cups

stove

Here’s what the back looks like. That table in the left corner folds down if you want more space…

13

And the couch folds out into a bed, so our tiny home sleeps at least four people comfortably.

3

couch

The bathroom. Check out that tile job…shout out to Lisa Romero! We make quite the tiling team. ๐Ÿ™‚

10 9

towels2

8

The nook.

inmycornerright

bathroom decor

1 2

This is the loft. If you’re a 5’4” midget like myself, you can stand up completely in the middle of the skylights.

That ladder is pretty dang steep, and you have to watch your head when you’re crawling around up there. The sleeping arrangement isย really not convenient when you have to pee in the night…I got up in the middle of the night and bonked my head soooo hard on the edge of the ceiling. It floored me for a few seconds. But let’s be real…the bumped head was worth it! I mean, who wouldn’t want to sleep in a cozy loft while looking out of skylights at beautiful canyon walls? GORGEOUS VIEWS.

2

11

books

patwithcamera

This is the road you take to get up to the tiny home…it’s right behind the Romero’s house.

theroad

I really can’t believe it’s finished. All our hard work paid off, and it feels amazing to have built something like this, basically by ourselves! (Well, with MUCH help from Papa D.) We’re renting it out to skiers this winter, but who knows, in the summer we may just have to move in! I feel like this thing is my child. ๐Ÿ™‚

us

Long live the Tiny Home.

27 thoughts on “the tiny home is finally home.

    1. Olivia! I’m glad you like it. ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re just ironing out a few of the last details and then it’ll be up and running! We’d love to have you guys come stay for a night!

  1. This place is INCREDIBLE!! We may have to rent it out for a night too! Seriously I can’t stop staring at this place. Every detail is amazing.

  2. This is rad! Good work guys! Question…..as far as county land use permits, etc. Is it viewed as a portable trailer? (Did you leave the axels in place, etc.). I’m not a fan of all the hoops you have to jump through…but I’m just wondering about the things you had to do to make it “legal”.

    1. Hi Camron!

      Yes, the axels are in place, so it is a portable trailer. Because of this, we’re able to circumvent land use permits! We’re still working everything out as we just got it in place last weekend, but I don’t think we’ll have any issues with permits.

  3. Hi Sarah!! Your house is INCREDIBLE! I saw it on AirBNB a while back just browsing but I wanted to rent it this summer but couldn’t find it on AirBNB anymore. Do you still have it listed? Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Why did the county shut you down? Is there anyway to get back in operation? What are you doing with the home instead?

      2. They shut us down because it doesn’t meet their crazy requirements haha. They have an old code that requires short-term rentals to be 20 feet by 20 feet, so the Tiny Home “isn’t big enough” to rent out. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Pretty ridiculous. We’ve tried everything to make it work, and the only way we can rent it out is to move it to an RV park, so we’ll be moving it to one in Sandy this November.

  4. Hi Sarah! I’m so sorry to hear that the city shut you down. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I wanted to let you know that I re-shared your tiny home on Tiny House Talk right here: http://tinyhousetalk.com/couples-192-sq-ft-tiny-house-on-wheels/ and that I linked back over to this blog post and your other post that features the construction part of it. I hope that’s okay! If not, just let me know! Also, I would love getting to jump on a call with you guys to interview you about the tiny house so we can all learn a little something about your experiences with it. If that’s alright, just reach out to me at alex@tinyhousetalk.com. If not, that’s okay too ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks! -Alex

  5. Hi Sarah, I had contacted you two recently regarding the plans, if I could get them. I forgot to ask the Dimensions…Height, Width, Length, also trailer weight and Total Finished weight. Could I please get that from you? I downloaded a program that will let me make the few minor changes I need to accommodate my disabled lifestyle.
    I’m so sorry to hear that your plan got ‘rerouted’…but you sound like a Go-Getter with a Positive Spirit, so I’m sure everything will come to fruition as you wish! God bless your adventures ahead. โ™ก Barbara

    1. Hi Barbara! I wish I could be of better help to you, but we don’t really have “plans.” We sketched things out initially, but very roughly, and my father (who is a general contractor) just figured it out along the way. It’s such a tiny building project, with his extensive experience in building custom homes, he didn’t really need official plans to work off of. As for the dimensions, it’s on a 16 X 8 foot trailer and we’ve never had it weighed, but I can tell you it’s HEAVY. Heavy enough to be a pain to move around. Sorry I couldn’t really answer your questions! However, if you do some research, I’m sure you could track down some tiny home owners who would have plans you could see. Cheers!

  6. This is the first tiny house bathroom that I absolutely love, love, love ! Super well thought out in floor-plan and aesthetic design overall. Very bright and airy. The skylights and bay windows in the bathroom, all I can say is WOW. I have a concept similar in design with the bathroom at one end so there is plenty of room, but this is one is super awesome. I do have questions: Does it get cold where you are and if so how well does it keep the warmth in? Nice job you guys.

    1. Terry, I’m so glad you like the bathroom! That’s one thing we wanted to different than most tiny homes. They usually have tiny bathrooms with barely any space…

      As for keeping the tiny home heated, it’s been a journey of trial and error. We actually had to cover up the skylights ๐Ÿ˜ฆ they were incredibly inefficient and we live in a very cold climate. We heat it with a propane furnace we installed, and we also have an electric space heater for additional heat if it’s really cold. Hope that helps! Good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Hi my name is John and I am building a tiny home in CT and planning to move it to Utah for next ski season I am coming out for my last ski trip for the year if possible I would like to see yours if possible you can get back at jpwingnutstoy@gmail.com if you can I will be in town for the weekend of 15 -18 so hopefully I can see your tiny home

    Thanks John

  8. You are so adorable! You two make a great couple. What an awesome experience to have so early in life!
    The plan is great, everything is so proportionate. I always read comments about older people not liking lofts or huge tables, you’ve taken everything into consideration. The smaller drop table and the fold out couch will work for them. I love the loft myself and would enjoy the view of the moon, stars, and available mountains.
    I love the skylights, the finishing decorations, the “pops” of color here and there. I love the stark white, it makes it look so huge.
    I only have one question (or a few on the same subject). I love cooking. I love your stove choice. Did you ever consider wrapping the splash guard around to the right side of the stove to protect the paint from heat and splatter? Or did you ever consider flipping the sink and stove? I’m curious about the heat on the right wall if a decent sized pan was a right burner.
    The bathroom is perfect! The closet, nook, and bay window really add to it all.
    I will continue watching for blogs from you on your adventures. My favorite plan so far (after 4 years of searching).
    Keep blogging and keep smiling!!

Leave a Reply

