The Tiny Home

A few months back, Patrick and I were innocently scrolling through Facebook when we saw a post about this thing called a Tiny Home...from the name, it’s kind of self explanatory, but just in case you don’t get it: these are little tiny homes built on a trailer. People are living in them all over the country. Here’s an example I pulled from Google so you have an image of what I’m talking about here:

Tiny_house,_Portland

Just for fun, Patrick and I started thinking about building one of these tiny homes. We joked about what kind of style we’d build our tiny home, what tile we’d use for the bathroom, how we’d decorate the kitchen…but that’s just it. It was a joke. Just an idea. We never meant it to actually happen.

But with Papa D. around, we should have known better. (My Dad Drew has been a general contractor for years…) One day at the dinner table, we threw out the idea, meaning for it to be tossed around and forgotten like any other dinner table topic. But Papa D. wouldn’t have it. He immediately began drawing plans for the tiny bathroom, which would be connected to the tiny kitchen/living area, which would be below the tiny loft with the tiny bed. And just like that our brain baby turned into a real project.

We started with a trailer.

The Trailer

We insulated the bottom of it using foam board so it will be a warm and cushioned home.

Insulation      4

Next came the framing. Here is cute Papa D. in his red hat and my handsome husband Pat. Let me just saw, they make a great team.

Frame it

We decided to build a little bay window on the front, which will be covered by an awning. It will go perfectly with the theme of our tiny home: beach style. Eeeewh cute! It’ll have pearly white doors and walls accented by pops of colors. At least, that’s the vision I have. We’ll see how it actually turns out.

photo 4 copy 3

Above is us framing the bay window and below is Papa D. building the roof.

drew bear

drew roof

It’s actually going to be a pretty tall and spacious little tiny home…there will be a bathroom in the very front, complete with a shower, toilet and small closet.

The kitchen will be in the back of the trailer. It’s connected to a small living area that will have a couch and TV. The bed is upstairs in a loft, accessed only by a sliding ladder.

Here’s my handy husband installing windows. Apparently it was bright that day. What a gem.

windows copy

Let me just be the first to say that this picture of me is kind of terrifying. But, I just had to include it because I’ll admit I’m proud of my power-tool skills. This was the first time I’d used a skill saw, and goodness that line I cut from the plywood was DANG straight.

The skill saw

Some notes to anyone who ever uses construction adhesive:
1. It causes cancer. (My hypochondriac self should never read warning labels…)
2. Don’t be hard on yourself if you glue like a four-year-old. That glue gun is harder to use than you’d think. After watching my shaking hand and squiggly lines, Papa D. actually asked me if I had Parkinson’s Disease. Yes, my own father…

the glue gun

There’s nothing more attractive than a man with a gun…

Pat with the gun

We’ve spent the last few weeks working on the tiny home in between summer craziness, trips to Southern Utah and wedding prep (my brother got married last week to one of my best friends!) We’re trying to get the tiny home finished before we move to California June first. It’s been a lot of work, and we have a long way to go, but it’s going to be adorable. It’s been such a fun project to work on with my dad and husband. Hopefully things will continue to progress and before long, we’ll have a completed beach-style tiny home to call our own!

the home copy

6 thoughts on “The Tiny Home

  1. We have been hearing all about the “tiny home” and it was great to actually see pictures. Can’t wait to see the finished product.

Leave a Reply

