butternut squash pasta sauce

cropped pasta

Things I love about fall: scarves, boots and butternut squash. Oh ya, and there’s the incredibly-gorgeous-everywhere-you-look thing too.

Fall happens to be my favorite season of the year. Not only is it gorgeous and the perfect temperature, (unless you live in Logan like me and it goes from 95 degrees to below freezing in a matter of two days…) there’s delicious food.

A.K.A. butternut squash.

I’ll admit, I used to be terrified of this stuff. It was all good and friendly when I bought it from the store, all wrapped up in packaging, pre-cubed and cooked to perfection. But when you start handing me human-baby-sized gourds complete with prickly stems the size of my arm, well…that’s when I start to panic.

But, the other day I got brave. Adorned with a very  sharp knife, (the Dora bandaid on my finger is proof…) I sliced that thing up like it was no one’s business.

And this was the delicious, fall-infused result:

butternut squash pasta sauce

ingredients:
  • 1 medium butternut squash
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary or sage
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, peel on
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • Pasta (I used penne)
  • Toppings: parmesan cheese, chopped walnuts, fresh sage (minced)

directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees . Cut the ends off of the squash and peel it with a vegetable peeler. Cut it in half down the middle and carve out the seeds and goopy stuff with a spoon.
  2. Cut the squash into small cubes and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper.
  3. Place the cubes on a baking sheet covered in tin-foil and scatter the garlic around squash. (Keep the peel on!) Place in the oven and cook for about 40 minutes, or until squash is very tender. Remove the skin from the garlic and discard.
  4. Transfer the squash and garlic to a food processor and puree until smooth. Add the cream and 1-2 cups of warm water. Continue to mix until very smooth and creamy.
  5. Season with salt and pour over cooked pasta. Top with toppings of your choice. (Although I would highly recommend fresh sage, parmesan cheese and walnuts for a crunch…)

IMG_3392

cropped mix IMG_7650 herb crop best crop pasta

salad crop

To go with the pasta, I made a spinach salad with fresh pears, feta cheese and walnuts with a balsamic vinaigrette dressing. It really did compliment the pasta pretty well. Like two peas in a pod. Or two delicious fall-ish foods in my belly…

Now, go for a hike and see some leaves.

Leave a Reply

