morning runs and matterhorns

IMG_0163

I’ve found one of my favorite things in Switzerland is my morning runs through fields of wild flowers while the sun is just peaking over the mountains.
IMG_0162
However this morning was different. I woke up early, pulled on my running clothes in the dark, and walked out the door.

Right into a wall of fog.

It was the kind of fog where you can’t see anything outside of the five-foot bubble of cloudiness surrounding you. I considered going back to bed but then I realized I have never run through a cloud before…

It was one of the best runs I’ve ever been on. It wasn’t raining but by the end I was soaked. As I ran through the cloud, the mist clung to my face and body with a refreshing tingle.

IMG_0169      IMG_0171

It was a great way to start my day.

We took a train to spend the day in Zermatt. It was an adorable little Swiss town that reminded me of Park City. The sky cleared up and we got a beautiful view of the top of the Matterhorn.

DSCN3140

We had a few hours to explore the town and surrounding mountains. Patrick and I found a random trail and began following it up the side of a river. The trail wound up the mountainside in steep switchbacks. Eventually we got near the top of the mountainside and came to a bridge with train tracks running across it. On one side of the bridge was a gushing waterfall, and on the other, a breathtaking view of the Matterhorn.

We climbed down underneath the bridge and hung out in the criss-crossing metal of the bridge supporters…a hundred-foot drop right below our feet. Let’s just say when the train rumbled by over our heads, it felt like we were in the middle of an earthquake.
IMG_2356
IMG_2342
It was a fun adventure! And despite the crazy-high drop underneath us, we managed to get away with no casualties besides the grease stains on my white shorts…

Leave a Reply

