earthquake in the wagoon

(Written by Patrick)

So there I was, dreaming of opening wedding presents when all of a sudden I was abruptly awoken with what sounded like an asteroid hitting the wagoon. I immediately sprung awake and looked to my side to make sure Sarah was ok. I felt a surge of panic when I saw she wasn’t there so jumped up to go find her when I saw her in her underwear sprawled out on the floor. A look of extreme confusion covered her face. Apparently she was getting out of bed while half asleep and SOMEHOW fell off the 3-foot drop, face first. There is something special about that girl.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is how my morning began. With a face full of wagoon floor. Don’t ask me how I managed to trip off of the bed and land flat on my face. But somehow I did it. Rough morning.

The rest of the day was a traveling day. Patrick and I managed to navigate the train system, which is actually a little overwhelming. But after six long hours of train rides and a windy bus ride along the coast, we arrived at our destination…a little town called Pescau nuzzled along the coast of Lake Como.

It’s beauty is breathtaking.

IMG_1875

We’re staying in a little cozy attic apartment. It’s no wagoon, but maybe that’s a good thing. It’s pretty adorable and will be a great place to stay for the next three nights.

We ate dinner on the patio of a pizzeria just a two-minute walk from our attic. It was a breathtaking view of the lake, and the food was deliciouso.

A few things I learned today:

1)   The floor of the wagoon makes a terrible alarm clock.
2)   Europeans eat french fries with a FORK.
3)   Those little pre-made sandwiches stuffed in a plastic container and sold at gas stations and apparently on trains…are really not that good.
4)   Europeans actually walk up escalators.
5)   Restaurants in Italy take a VERY long time to bring you the bill. To them, the meal is about the experience, not the punctuality.

I’m excited to spend the next few days exploring Lake Como…it is absolutely magnifico!

Leave a Reply

