sausage-leek pasta

ImageSo, I can’t take credit for this one. But my oh my it is delish.

My aunt Marianne is the genius behind this, and I’ve made it for Patrick two times in the last few weeks. It’s SoOoOOo easy to make, which is great when your life is speeding along at 57 miles per hour like mine has been lately….

I’ll admit the first time I made this, I had no idea what a leek even was. You should have seen me at the grocery store, walking back and forth along the veggie aisle, getting sprayed by the veggie misters with a perplexed and somewhat concerned look on my face. I finally found that devilish little leek–but once I got it home, I realized I had no idea what to do with it. Which is why I’ve got my mom’s number on speed dial…

Lucky for you, I am now an expertย when it comes to leeks, so have no fear and put this one on your list for this week’s dinner menu.

Sausage-Leek Pasta

ingredients:

  • 1 lb. Italian sausage (I got mild…even that has a kick. But if you like spicy, or if you’re in the mood to challenge your palate, go for medium or hot.)
  • 3 leeks
  • olive oil
  • 1-2 cans of chicken broth
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • bow-tie pasta (about 10 oz.)
  • parmesan cheese*note: this recipe will serve 4-6 people. When I make it for Pat and me, I just use half a pound of sausage and freeze the rest, and cut all the other ingredients in half.

directions:

  1. Wash the leeks very well. They tend to get dirt stuck in them.
  2. Slice the white part of the leeks into thin slices. (You don’t want to slice into the green part.)
    *note: gently divide the circles up and they will cook more evenlyImage
    Aren’t they cute? I thought they looked pretty artsy. If I could somehow incorporate leeks into my house decor, I think I would…
  3. Heat some oil in a large sauce-pan and brown the sausage on medium heat.Image
  4. In a small saucepan, saute the leeks in oil on low until very soft.
    *note: Make sure you don’t burn them, or they will become bitter. Just turn the heat to low, use oil, and be patient. Believe me, I learned this one the hard way. Gross!
  5. Once the leeks are soft and the sausage is cooked, add everything to the large saucepan, mix together and serve hot with parmesan on top.Image

I love this recipe because it fills ya up, and it literally takes 20 minutes from start to finish. Quick and delicious!

Leave a Reply

